1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Did I charge to much?(Leaf Cleanup)

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Husky03, Nov 9, 2004.

1. Husky03

Husky03 LawnSite Senior Member

This is the first year I have tried the leaf cleanup thing and I am not very good at determing how long they are going to take. I have only done a couple. This particular job was for a weekly account I picked up this year. The guy called and told me to do the job without an estimate because he wanted it done (this may have been my first mistake). Anyways, the job took me about 4.5 hours working by myself with my 145bt, rake, and tarp only. The property was probably between 6-7000 sq. ft. The pile I made was probably about 20 ft. long x 5 ft. wide x 4 ft. high. The city picks it up. I told him $150. He about Sh!t himself. Was this to much? I try to get around $30 an hour. I go as fast as I possibly can solo. Am I missing something? ;)

2. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

since it's your first year I feel it was fine, but if it was your second, third, etc. then you are charging too cheap I feel
  3. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

but of course I didn't figure in the type of equipment that you were using. So if you were using different equipment, it would take you not as long....too many factors I feel
  4. Travis Followell

Travis Followell LawnSite Silver Member
    from KY

After a couple of years after you get established don't charge any less than $40 an hour. That way you will make plenty of money.
  5. Husky03

I would have been able to go much faster, but under the top layer of leaves there was a matted layer of soggy leaves that my 145BT would barely move. I had to loosen these areas up with the rake before blowing.
  6. Smithers

Smithers LawnSite Silver Member