Diesel's: How many commercial guy's run them?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by af73bn, Aug 22, 2012.

1. af73bn

af73bn LawnSite Member

I was curious, how many commercial cutters are running diesels?
    Any things in particular you like about diesels versus the gas counterparts.

If you run diesels, do you plan to keep them long after the warranty runs out?

Just wanted to get some first hand advice from folks already using diesels.

2. capt bob

capt bob LawnSite Member

I cannot comment on long term for I am new to Diesel as well but can give you my Observation's on the limited time I have been using My 997 John Deere , Much Quieter
    than my 28 Kaw and I would estimate about 25% less fuel consumption , Torque of a 3 Cylinder Natural is greater than a gas twin , Speed this by far the fastest mower I have ever been on , Not sure if this is propitiatory to this mower but I have not been able to lug
    it down anywhere as much as I could other mowers in heavy grass being a shaft to PTO deck with only one very thick belt running the blades might help with that , Did I mention how quiet this is more of a low Drone sound operating at a lower RPM than a Gas engine.
    Covered engine with radiator and large oil cooler prob. helps keep the noise down.
    Here in Florida I see these used as finish mowers behind the big Trac mowers and Batwings going around culverts and signs on interstates, the county i live in has several of these they use for their Parks and median cutting with thousands of hours
    seeing minimal service , A mower or at least this mower seems to be heavier duty
    being diesel with larger hydro's and oil capacity for cooling. This mower uses the same engine for the 72 deck as well as the 60 in I have the smaller one .

3. Duekster

Duekster LawnSite Fanatic
    from DFW, TX

subscribed.

4. af73bn

af73bn LawnSite Member

Yes capt bob, The diesels do seem a little quieter.