dirty deck= poor cut?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by linemech31, Jul 21, 2006.

1. linemech31

linemech31 LawnSite Member

I have a gravely pro 1544 with only 15 hours on it at first it seemed to cut O.K . Now i have noticed it seems to miss more grass and lay it down. I have not hit anything with the blades and dont think they are damaged. Could it be because of clumped grass on the bottom of the deck that i have never cleaned?? Are the factory blades junk? I have yet to be impressed with the cut. What should i look at first. And what would be a better blade set up for side discharge? I am new at this thanks for the input

2. mhussey

mhussey LawnSite Senior Member

You should sharpen your blades every 10 to 15 hours depending on what you cut. Sometimes the blade life is less depending on what type of grass/weed you are cutting. However, you should scrape your deck because if not your vacuum will be reduced therefore not getting the suction required for a clean cut.

3. dvmcmrhp52

dvmcmrhp52 LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Pa.

If you haven't cleaned the deck yet then you won't get a decent cut.
    No vacuum equals lousy cut.

4. linemech31

I had no idea that i had to sharpen so often. The loss of suction from a dirty deck sounds reasonable to me thanks.

5. HOOLIE

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

Certainly could be grass build-up under the deck, that's easy to fix. Blade sharpening frequency should vary depending on conditions and the type of grass you're dealing with...after 15 hours it shouldn't be terrible but wouldn't hurt to sharpen them. Check the pitch of your deck, make sure the front is slightly lower than the back.

6. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Not to disagree with you but I think it is different from machine to machine, mine likes to be slightly higher in the front, either way yes pitch is very important.