???Diversify???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Southern Lawns, Nov 11, 2000.

1. Southern Lawns

Southern Lawns LawnSite Senior Member

How many of you do JUST Lawn and Landscape maintenance and how many have included irrigation and landscape installs to their business. I'm just starting out and sticking with the maintenance for now but I've heard time and time again from the bigger company's in town that irrigation and landscape installs is where the real money is. I can handle small to medium landscape installs but don't know a thing about irrigation and not sure I want to. Do any of you sub the final grading and irrigation out and do the rest yourself or what? Just wondering what you guys that have been doing this stuff for years feel about it. Thanks in advance for all replys.
    Raymond
    Southern Lawns

2. steveair

steveair LawnSite Bronze Member

hello,

I'm at the opposite end, doing only 95% construction with a occasional pruning/mulch/edging job here and there.

I think the key is to become good at what you do first, then move on. What I mean is, if you do maintenance only, then stick to that until the day comes that you say, "this is too easy", or til you have a good system/good employees that can run the maintenance while you begin to concentrate on other aspects of the business.

construction work does require a completely diff't set up. It also requires a lot of time to do well. You will find that hours upon hours of time our spent on estimates, plans, locating plants, scheduling supplies, mobilizing equip. etc, etc. If you don't have your act together in your maintenance division, then the time you spend doing constuction will start to affect the operation of your mowing crews.