Diversify

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by madmowingman, Jan 10, 2001.

1. madmowingman

madmowingman LawnSite Member

I've been full time Lawn Maintenance for 2 years..I want to diversify. I don't want to do heavy landscaping....I would like to get into lawn installation. Anything else guys and gals do to diversify?

2. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

Landscape Lighting or Irrigation may be something you could consider. Don't forget if you know reputable people you can sub some of your "diversified" work out.

Hope this helps.
    Kris

3. kountryscape

kountryscape LawnSite Member
    from iowa

i try to do alot of different things. i started doing just installs like plantings etc. Now i do retaining walls, concrete curved sidewalks,brick edging, and since i was a union carpenter for 5 years i started a custom built arbor , trellis, deck, fence company . i also have a retail and wholesale greenhouse business. this is all done by myself with seasonal help in the greenhouse and some part time help in the summer from a high school guy. you have to find something knowone else does and do it well when other try to do it find other niches . my month of may is hell on wheels !!!!

4. thefarmer4

thefarmer4 LawnSite Member

I believe from a business standpoint that we need to ask ourselves the question of whether it is more profitable to diversify or is it something we just want to do to break up the bordem?

Will the diversification compliment our current services and enhance customer satisfaction?

The more services we offer the harder it becomes to be profitable. Equipment, labor, overhead, and revenue increase have to be considered before adding on new services. Otherwise we may get into a situation were we work more hours for less return.

Also from a marketing stand point we cannot be everything to everybody.

Some services you may want to consider are:
    Landscape maintenance, Shrub trimming, weeding, mulching and planting flowers.
    Irrigation