dixie choppers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MATTHEW, Jun 4, 2001.

1. MATTHEW

MATTHEW LawnSite Senior Member
    from NE OHIO

ok, let's hear from you dixie chopper owners and pervious
    owners. I am using a toro 44" w/a velkie and I am somewhat
    satisfied. 15hp kohler. But, I am really feeling the pinch
    in time spent. OK, are these dixie choppers able to get a
    good clean cut and get them done in record time?????

2. Fine Lines Lawn

Fine Lines Lawn LawnSite Senior Member

Hi Matthew,
    Welcome to LawnSite :)
    I have been mowing with Dixies for a few years now and love them, but anything I say will be biased, so I recommend you demo one and see what you think. I think you'll be pleased.

3. John DiMartino

John DiMartino LawnSite Silver Member

I have a 2000 Dixie,xw 2500.it'll cut clean dry with single blades,if its wet you need double blades to cut clean.IMO the machine has a lot of shortcomings that need to be addressed asap,and the build quality is very poor,and inconsistant.there is no attention to detail,or refinement at all,just pure speed mowing,which it does do well.My machine was delivered so out of wack that it still isnt right over a year later.The dealers dont seem to know much about there own machines,Buy the honda engine if you get one,and look it over real good.

4. MATTHEW

MATTHEW LawnSite Senior Member
    from NE OHIO

I WILL ACCEPT A BIASED OPINION. I USED A TURF TRCKER FOR YEARS.
    IT IS BASICALLY A DIXIE CHOPPER SET UP FOR LAWN APPLICATIONS.
    SO MY MOST IMPORTANT QUESTIONS ARE-DOES IT DO WELL MOWING AT 2
    TO 2 1/2". i HAVE BEEN TOLD IT IS GREAT AT 3" BUT NO LOWER.
    ALSO, HOW EASY IS IT TO CHANGE THE BLADES? MY TORO IS A PAIN
    IN THE REAR END. I DO ABOUT $30-35.00 AN HOUR NOW. I NEED TO
    KNOW IF I CAN DOUBLE THAT TO JUSTIFY THE EXPENSE.

5. Turfquip.com has a brand new 52" Toro walk behind deck and carrier for sale for $795.

Buy this b/4 you spend $8k on new mower.