DIY Irrigation - Help here?

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by Lakee911, Oct 23, 2011.

1. Lakee911

Lakee911 LawnSite Member

Hi All,

I am looking for a place to have my small irrigation design critiqued before I install it. Is it okay to post here? I'm looking to do it correctly and don't want a hack job. I am an engineer and I'm rather capable (in my opinion) as well. I did read the Sticky to Homeowner's, Do-It-Yourselfer's, please read this first. If you'd rather not have a DIY post or do not want to help, please recommend another site if you could.

Thanks,
    Jason

2. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic

3. greenmonster304

greenmonster304 LawnSite Gold Member

You could post it here but you will need your hip boots to wade through all the sh!t you will most likely get from some guys. But if you stick it out and are a good sport you will get some good info eventually. Just remember most guys here make a living doing what you are asking us to do for free. so if some are not too friendly don't take it personally.
    Posted via Mobile Device

4. mitchgo

mitchgo LawnSite Silver Member

Try here

This is a good irrigation homeowners website

5. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic

I dunno, lots of idiots there. :p

6. Mike Leary

Mike Leary LawnSite Fanatic

Post away:give scale and sun /shade. Hope you know the psi/gpm available, otherwise these jackals will rip your heart out.

7. Lakee911

Lakee911 LawnSite Member

I think I'll take my chances here with the waders. :) I've attached my plan below. There is a 2' elevation drop over approx. 4' along the south and the west...note the location of the steps on the walk to the front porch.

My static water pressure is approx. 76 psi. My max flow rate was 12GPM. I will install a RPZ BFP in my basement.

Zone 1: Rainbird 1804-SAM-PRS with 10VAN nozzles @ 6.94 GPM. Full Sun
    Zone 2: Rainbird 1804-SAM-PRS with 10VAN nozzles @ 8.67 GPM. Part Sun