DIY Where to buy

Discussion in 'Landscape Lighting' started by GTIMANiac, May 26, 2008.

1. GTIMANiac

GTIMANiac LawnSite Member
    from Phoenix

Before becoming an IT Professional I was an electrician. I did lots of landscape lighting back in Florida using mainly Techlight Metal Halide and HPS. I am currently redoing my backyard, I have already invested 10k into landscaping, trees, concrete border, irrigation etc.

I would like to highlight many of my new trees, the grado for the pool, etc. I am looking to do low voltage and wanting to spend no more than 1500 or so.

Is it possible to order pro quality goods myself, or will I have to go through the trouble of setting up a wholesale account somewhere?

Thanks
    -Scott

2. INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting

INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting LawnSite Platinum Member

You would not get much pro-grade product for $1500 even with a wholesale account. Certainly not enough to do an entire backyard properly.... maybe a pathway, or a small deck.

Best to call a local lighting professional and have them do a design and specification for you.

3. David Gretzmier

David Gretzmier LawnSite Gold Member

If you walk into a Ewing or whatever your local irrigation supply place is, and you buy a 600 watt trans, 500 ft 10 guage, and 15-20 bullets from a reputable manufacturer, you're going to be over 1500, even at contractor wholesale prices. it sounds like you need closer to a 900 watt to do what you want. And that does not leave you money for connectors, bulbs, additional wire ( 500 ft 12 guage) and any tools you might need, such as good strippers, cutters and dmm. I'd set your budget closer to 2500 for materials, or hire a lighting contractor to do this for you for $4500-6000. good luck

4. Lite4

Lite4 LawnSite Gold Member

Boy material prices just seem to keep going higher and higher don't they. I need to recheck my priceing and adjust accordingly.

5. The Lighting Geek

The Lighting Geek LawnSite Senior Member