Do all you professionals just laugh......

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by DaveVB, Mar 13, 2008.

1. DaveVB

DaveVB LawnSite Member

when a non-professional asks a question? 51 views to my question below and no responses? It is a simple question; is 10+ year old 18-24-12 fertilizer any good? Would it hurt to put it out on existing grass fields?
    I am not trained by any means, but I am titled as Grounds Manager at a private college in Kansas City. Mostly I cut the grass (45 acres)and keep things looking nice, but I came across this fertilizer in a back room here in the shop and wonder if it is any good. A response would be appreciated. Give me a yes/no and I will never invade this holy space again.

2. RAlmaroad

RAlmaroad LawnSite Silver Member
    from SC

I'll answer your thoughts and before you say *uck that SOB; I have a Masters Degree with over 35 years of experience! Now the answer is "We don't know" We as "Professionals" DO NOT USE 10 YEAR OLD FERTILIZER or have not been exposed to 10 year old fertilizer at any percentage.
    As a grounds keeper why don't you conduct a test yourself on something green and see for yourself.
    The fertilizer that we provide to our clients is fresh and less than a year old from the production company.
    That is about as professional as it can be stated.

3. ffemtmcd

ffemtmcd LawnSite Senior Member

Agreed - try it in a small area and see. I would say if it's not one big block of fert it might be o.k., but that's just a guess.

4. tlg

tlg LawnSite Senior Member