Do Grasshopper frontmounts(700 series) offer Mulching decks?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Gage7, Jun 29, 2008.

1. Gage7

Gage7 LawnSite Member

I've run Walkers, Scags, demoed a Superbee.. etc.

I love front mount cutters. But I hate side discharge.

As the title says, do Grasshopper frontmounts(700 series) offer Mulching decks?

The mulching deck on my 23hp Walker is the baddest thing I've ever seen.

2. Gage7

Gage7 LawnSite Member

3. Mowingman

Mowingman LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Texas

I have used front-mount Grasshoppers in my mowing business, and I have sold them when I owed a store. The decks have a really good mulching kit that can be added to them. The mulch job is very nice in Bermuda and St. Augustine grass. I have no experience with northern grasses. I have also owned Walkers. I would rate the Grasshopper mulch job as good as the Walker mulch job, if not better in some conditions.
    The Grasshopper mulch kit takes about 30-45 minutes to install or remove. For mulcing just once in a while, you can buy a discharge cover plate, and mulch with that. It will however, leave a small trail of clippings along the discharge side of the cut. you can use a blower to spread those clipping trails if needed.

4. Gage7

Gage7 LawnSite Member

I am a full time mulcher. I'm hoping their full bore kit does not leave the small trail of clippings.. as the walker does not. Thanks for the reply by the way.

5. doubleedge

doubleedge LawnSite Senior Member
    from ND

I have seen a grasshopper being used to mulch KBG, it looked really nice. No trails of grass that I could see and it was cut in moderate growth. The cut is nice and smooth, also.

6. Mowingman

Mowingman LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Texas

No, the full mulch kit does not leave a trail of clippings. It does a very nice job.

7. Gage7

Gage7 LawnSite Member

Thanks Mowingman.

8. Jason Rose

Jason Rose LawnSite Fanatic