Do harley rakes blow hydraulic lines?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by mr. niceguy, May 19, 2006.

1. mr. niceguy

mr. niceguy LawnSite Member

Hi, noob here. I was looking for info on power rakes and stumbled on this site, where I've found not only a lot of good discussion about them but about a lot of other very relevant landscaping stuff. Nice place.

One thing I gathered in all the discussions about Harleyrakes and Rockhounds is the mention a couple of times about blown hydraulics from digging the drum of the Harley rake too deep. I've used a Rockhound before with no problems but it seems from what I've read here that a power rake is usually preferred if only one attachment is to be used. I have 75 tons of topsoil, 25 of it very rocky, and I plan to get a bobcat and probably a Harley type power rake. My one concern is that it may be prone to blowing a line from a moment or even a few seconds of hard grinding or hanging up.

I was hoping the unit could actually dig out half buried rocks of less than 4-5 inches, but I don't want to be constantly worrying about blowing a line.

Any advice?

Thanks,
    Chip

2. Mike33

Mike33 LawnSite Bronze Member

I own a bobcat 185 and have had a 5a landscape rake for 10 years and very happy with it. Now im hearing about the harley rake , does any one have any pics of them. And how do they compare to the landscape rake?
    Mike

3. AintNoFun

AintNoFun LawnSite Bronze Member

i have a cat 248 with i think a 7 foot glenmac harley rake never had any problems. just bought a dingo as well with a harley rake haven't had any problems within the month we've had it. if its a concern for you i'd rent the setup just for that job if it breaks bring it back.....

4. Lawnworks

Lawnworks LawnSite Fanatic
    from usa

What about having an extra pair of lines just in case? They can't be that much. I love my harley rake.

5. Cahsking

Cahsking LawnSite Member