1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Do I need a Hydro???????

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by chrisk, May 12, 2002.

1. chrisk

chrisk LawnSite Member

I am just starting out and am looking to get a 48inch walk behind.
    I've looked at scag, and exmark.
    All of my yards so far are between 1/8th acre - 1/4acre.
    All yards are flat. I will be mulching.
    Do I need a Hydro to start or can I wait till next summer to get one.
    I do 6 yards now with a 21inch push mower.
    I'm just looking to save some money while trying to add more customers.
    Thanks for the help!!!!!!!!!
  2. MikeLT1Z28

MikeLT1Z28 LawnSite Bronze Member

you can go either way. if you have the money, i say buy it now. if you don't, a gear drive will be just fine. however, if you buy one now, you will be spending more money to just buy another one next year if you get a hydro then.

hydro's are nice and can cut in all conditions, but those pumps aren't cheap. like everything, they have good and bad points.
  3. Kent Lawns

Kent Lawns LawnSite Senior Member
    from Midwest

The smaller the WB, the less you need a Hydro.

A 48" can go either way, although I'd always lean towards a Hydro.

I would recommend buying a peice of equipment that you can build your operation with for the long term.
  4. mdb landscaping

mdb landscaping LawnSite Silver Member

if you can afford it get a hydro. My first mower was a 48 inch scag belt drive, and i will never buy a belt drive again. The hydros are so nice to operate, and i love how you can back up by just squeezing the trigger. the reverse on belts is almost useless.
  5. I agree with mbd landscapeing
    if you can afford it go hydro ,they are more productive and no belts to slipp in wet condidtions.