Do I need to have commercial insurance on my trailer

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by matt arends, Apr 29, 2013.

1. matt arends

matt arends LawnSite Member

I'm just starting out doing mowing part time on the side. I still have a full time job. I just bought a brand new trailer and have 3 mowers. At this time I only have 4 yards that I maintenance, two of which our family members. If I get any more yards I will only have 6 maximum just to be side money. I have a name for my lawn care and put a decal on my back window. I'm in the process of getting DBA to make it legit so I wont get any BS at the end of the year from uncle sam. I'm curious if I must have commercial insurance on my truck and trailer? at this point they are both covered on my regular policy. I do not want to get commercial insurance because I only make very little as being on the side. I'm in the learning stage of the "business" side so any inputs helps. I live about 25 miles east of Kansas City, MO and will only be doing lawn care on the Missouri side. Thanks everyone, Matt :confused:

2. matt arends

Forgot to add that my trailer is a 12' x 5' single axle utility

3. grandview (2006)

grandview (2006) LawnSite Gold Member

If you get in an accident your personal insurance may not cover it. As for the trailer you can get a policy on it for cheap.

4. BeachysLawn

BeachysLawn LawnSite Senior Member
    from VA

Depends if you want to self insure your trailer. I had someone run into my truck and trailer earlier this year while it was parked on the side of the road and my insurance covered the truck but wouldn't touch the trailer because it was a vehicle accident.

5. Caddyshack Lawn Care

Caddyshack Lawn Care LawnSite Senior Member

1. Chances are good that the liability coverage on your truck extends to your trailer WHILE CONNECTED...but ask your agent to be sure.