1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Do I want a tractor???

Discussion in 'Tractors' started by PMLAWN, Jun 23, 2004.

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

What can a tractor do? Can I make money with a compact tractor.
    I have been cutting grass and light landscaping for 3 years now and have a few accounts that I could use a small tractor as a tow for a trailer- aerator-spreader and utility truck. I have been looking at graden tractors for this BUT I have looked at compact tractors and been thinking about what I could do with these and if I could add some services.
    What all can a compact tractor do and what type of fees can I charge for different jobs. I know that this is area specific but any general ideas would be helpful as I'm creating a business plan for this.
    Is a compact tractor worth looking at or is it to small to do any real work and to big to put on lawns. I will not be cutting grass with this but I was thinking about lawn installs and bush hog work or other types of heavy cutting. Is this worth looking at?
    Thanks for your help in advance
  2. Itsgottobegreen

Itsgottobegreen LawnSite Silver Member

I bought my Kubota B7500(used), because I want to do more than cut grass. Since I got it for a christmas present to myself last year. I have paided it off and a bunch of attachments.

A compact or a sub compact are great for getting into small areas. They have the power, if they are matched with the right size attachments. Mine has done more than I though it could, along with the orginal owner. The funny part was, I since have used it at the orginal owners house and got paided for it.