DO NOT finance through Sheffield!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by hughmcjr, Apr 24, 2007.

1. hughmcjr

hughmcjr LawnSite Member
    from Oregon

I purchased a Hustler Super Z. Total bill was a little over 11k with bag vac system. I have financed through Sheffield Financial before, but am shocked at how they charge interest. They compound DAILY!

To put this in perspective on the amount I financed, I will be paying 2k in interest alone which on 12.95% interest rate is ridiculous to say the least. I am a business owner and understand about making a profit, but 1k dollars over the 36 months payment for just shuffling paper would be more than adequate. I am immediately paying off Sheffield with other financing and will save almost half the 2k.

I am just letting anyone know that isn't aware of interest compounding daily and how much of a scam it is. Sheffield is no friend to the landscape industry with those rates. Avoid them at all costs.:angry:

2. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

It doesn't matter what the compound interval is. If you look at the fine print you will see that the compound works out to an annual rate of 12.95%. The problem isn't the way they compound it, it's the 12.95% interest rate. Your loan should work out to $2333.27 in interest paid over the life of the loan.

The "extra" $1000 isn't a fee for doing the paperwork, it's what you have to pay to borrow their money.

3. nobagger

nobagger LawnSite Gold Member
    from Pa

We just went through them and we are getting a fixed intrest rate of 9.99%, thats lower than a small business loan we were looking at. The business loan from a local bank was prime plus 2, that comes out to over 11%. Even 12.95 isnt all that bad these days. I could see if it were 19-24% like some of these places like Benificial or something like that.

4. IN2MOWN

IN2MOWN LawnSite Platinum Member

Sheffield is a joke.

5. richard1103

richard1103 LawnSite Member