Do You Make Em Pay Up Front???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by bad_chad48, Mar 13, 2002.

1. bad_chad48

bad_chad48 LawnSite Member

HELLO ONCE AGAIN...

I AM ABOUT TO DO A JOB THAT IS 2.75 ACRES INWHICH I AM GOING TO HAVE TO DIG UP WHAT GRASS IS THERE AND PUT 12 TONS OF LIME, ALMOST 1200LBS OF FURTILIZER AND APROX 350LBS OF SEED. USING A TRACTOR FOR 5 TO 8 HRS IN WHICH I WILL BE RENTING FOR A GRAND TOTAL FOR ALL OF AROUND $1500.
    THIS IS A NEW CUSTOMER (A PREACHER) AND I DO NOT HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY TO BE THROWING AROUND... SHOULD I HAVE HIM PAY UP FRONT? AND HOW SHOULD I ASK FOR THAT KIND OF MONEY BECAUSE I AM NEW TO HIM TOO?
    THANKS

2. WHY?

Explain why you are doing this?

3. 1grnlwn

1grnlwn LawnSite Bronze Member

Half before you start (cash before you start) Half on completion. Preachers can cheat people too.

Mark

4. bad_chad48

THIS HOUSE IS LOCATED IN A NEW SUBDIVISION BUILT IN A LARGE FIELD... ABOUT HALF OF THE YARD IS STILL FIELD AND THE OTHER HALF IS DIRT FROM WHERE THEY LEFT IT FROM THE CONSTRUCTION... THIS GUY STOPPED ME WHILE I WAS PASSING OUT FLYERS AND HIRED ME ON THE SPOT TO MAKE HIS PLACE LOOK GOOD. FIRST THING I DID WAS TAKE A SOIL SAMPLE AND THEN WAITED FOR THE RESULTS. NOW THAT I HAVE THE RESULTS..I KNEW WHERE I WAS STANDING. NOW, I HAVE TO BEAT THE CLOCK AS FAR AS GETTING THIS GUY A YARD THAT WE BOTH CAN BE PROUD OF.. I HAVE TO BREAK UP THE SOIL AROUND THE HOUSE SO THAT I HAVE A NEW START AS FAR AS SEEDING AND THEN RE-SEED THE FIELD SO THAT IT IS A YARD AND NOT A FIELD.

5. This calls for 24,000 pounds of lime?

That's 200 pounds of lime per 1000 sq ft.

This calls for 1,200 of fert?

I don't know where you got $1500 for the whole job, but I got $1,190 just for seed at the proper rate.

$476 for starter fert at the proper rate.

6. KirbysLawn

KirbysLawn Millenium Member