Do you own a 4500 DMAX??

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by tthomass, Sep 2, 2006.

1. tthomass

tthomass LawnSite Gold Member
    from N. VA

Looked at one today but wasn't able to do a test drive for being short on time. Thought I'd post up and see who has one and how they like it? I've driv'n one with a 8.1L gas for a while as it was my truck at a previous company that I once worked for. My plans are to purchase one with a 14' dump on it this fall or spring. The 0% is nice.

2. Earth and Turf

Earth and Turf LawnSite Member

I work parttime for a Excavating Co. I am also a Firefighter. They have a Chevy 5500 with the Duramax and the Allison auto. Great truck it has a 12' dump we pull a 25' 10 ton tag with a 287 and sometimes a mini ex. It handles it extremly well. it will haul about 10 ton of sand or stone. We also have 2 Kenworth T-800 dumps and a 20 ton tag for 1 of them. The little dump will pull the D-4 with no problem. It is too much weight with the D-4 and the 287 together on the little trailer but no problem with the bigger one. Are you going to pull equipment or just haul material?

3. jazak

jazak LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ

Dads buddy just bought 3 5500s along with 3 3500s all dumps. Ask it and I'll get answers. I'm gonna get some pics up soon of his whole outfit.

4. tthomass

from N. VA

Mostly material but I'm buying equipment left and right............5500 and 4500......can one of you break down some differences? Is it just GW?

There's a 4500 DMAX sitting on the Chevy lot here.........they don't sell very fast here I don't think so maybe it will sit long enough until I'm ready to purchase that I can get them to come down to my price haha......its a flatbed 14' dump, just needs some sides and rear doors

5. abuckeye

abuckeye LawnSite Member