Do you spray the leaves?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by MOW ED, Oct 27, 2003.

1. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

I got out early today and to my surprise so did TG/CL. What amazed me is that they were spraying and the lawn was 75% covered with leaves.

I have to try and pick up those customers.

Any of you spray guys think thats a good idea or am I missin something?

2. walker-talker

walker-talker LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Midwest

Don't sound like that would too much good!

3. kickin sum grass

kickin sum grass LawnSite Senior Member

I would say it depends on what they are spraying. Of course no leaves are best. A braodleaf of sort it would say is wasted. I would guess a liquid fertilizer (I have little experience with liquid fert for the record) would get washed in the ground as long as the leaves are not removed from the area till after a rain or something. Mulching the leaves and leaving them in place would be best.
    FOR THE RECORD - if the property is covered in leaves we DO skip the treatment for that day and call and find out when they will have the leaves up.

4. rkk95

rkk95 LawnSite Member
    from west PA

I saw an invoice from Scotts the other day, the lawn was totaly covered with leaves. The tech left a note, "do not remove the leaves until the product is rained in very well" We will blow leaves at a property if it will take less than 10 minutes, just to get done, because customers in some areas just seem to never clean the leaves up. we just blow them off of the grass areas we don't by any means clean the property up.

5. kppurn

kppurn LawnSite Senior Member