Do you still have to trim a lot?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by breck75, Jan 14, 2005.

1. breck75

breck75 LawnSite Member

I am new to the business and I was wondering if you have to do a lot of trimming after you have mowed with a ZTR? I know that there will be hard to reach places so to speak but I am thinking about bidding on a cemetery and I am just wondering if any of you do these types of properties and what do you do with the trimming? Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Breck :help:

2. SouthernYankee

SouthernYankee LawnSite Senior Member

I am interested in the same topic, I have always run a wb 48" and I was thinking about getting a ztr44", since it can fit through a lot of gates that a 48" cant, but then I got to thinking and read a lot of posts on this site, that just about anything smaller than a 48" is not ideal for trimming, so I will probally go with a 48" ztr if I get one for large accounts

3. PLM-1

PLM-1 LawnSite Bronze Member

99.99% of the time if you can get a 44" through a gate you can get a 48" through. You just have to maneuver it a bit. It's like carrying a couch around a tight corner.

4. Flex-Deck

Flex-Deck LawnSite Silver Member

I mow between the stones on a 1 acre cemetary for our church. (26" apart with a 9 1/2 foot mower). I trim every third time, and it looks good all the time - A breeze, if you can call trimming 300 tombstones a breeze.. Pick you machine, get efficient. Go.

5. TClawn

TClawn LawnSite Silver Member

for what it's worth, a front mount will have better trimming than a mid mount.

6. breck75

breck75 LawnSite Member

Thanks flex-deck, you kinda answered my question. I guess the only way is to bid the job and learn more as I go. Breck :waving:

7. ALarsh

ALarsh LawnSite Silver Member
    from Midwest