Dodge V-10 w/auto Pro's/Con's

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by amscontr, Apr 28, 2009.

1. amscontr

amscontr LawnSite Member

We're looking at buying a 1995 Dodge 1 ton with a v-10- auto any have any comments?

2. dbear

dbear LawnSite Senior Member

I've heard that the auto trannies back then weren't the best (a little weak?), but I have no personal experience. The only other downside would be lack of fuel economy, but then again, you're not buying a Prius.

3. Junior M

Junior M LawnSite Fanatic

95 wasnt the year to worry about the auto tranny..

And he said the exact samething I would've..

4. Gravel Rat

Gravel Rat LawnSite Fanatic

One of my brothers friends has one the truck has good power but it has a severe thirst for gasoline :laugh:

5. amscontr

amscontr LawnSite Member

I hear the same about the trans., also I was wondering if there is a PTO that will match up to it to get rid of the electric hoist? Supposedly this truck in particular is on it's third trans. and the owner "says" it is finally a good one.
    As far as the gas goes we a have a 460 EFI and we almost have to carry more fuel than payload.

6. Junior M

Junior M LawnSite Fanatic

once again, I've never heard of tranny issues prior to 2001? Maybe a lemon? Or maybe TXNS can give us some real facts cause I got something wrong some where?

7. Jason Rose

Jason Rose LawnSite Fanatic

I have a '98 Dodge 3/4 ton with the V-10, Automatic. Yes, these years were not the 'bad transmission years' I believe that was early '90's and just a couple years. But ever since, for 15 years almost, Dodge has a bad rap following them and the first thing everyone says about a Dodge is that the tranny is junk.

Yes, fuel economy sucks with a V-10, but it's no different than a 454 or 460 big block. Expect around 6 mpg if you tow with the truck, maybe 8 mpg highway.

8. mag360

mag360 LawnSite Silver Member