1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Does anyone just do designs??

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by chrisvinky, Sep 11, 2007.

1. chrisvinky

chrisvinky LawnSite Senior Member

I am just getting into the mowing business, but really my passion is landscape design. I have no formal education in that area, but I feel that I have an eye for design.

I would love to just be able to do designs for people and consult them. Is there a viable business there or do most people plant and install the designs??

I know lots of home owners that wouldn't mind doing the work, they just don't know what to do.
  2. Mike33

Mike33 LawnSite Bronze Member

It takes more than what you think if you have an eye for it. It is very tough i have been doing landscaping for 10 years now ( srw and new yard installs ) Some shrubbery work on a low end side. Right now i have just employed my friend ( Dreams To Designs ) whom im sure will reply to your thread to help me with my new home. For example i have a small area on front of my home with an off set. It consists of being shaded, in deer country, and i dont want something high to block my arched window of dining room that only sits 2.5' off of grade. Also i have a 30x40 pole garage with parking area past my home for my business. This needs to be blended so my home is seen more than mike has a new bobcat sitting there taking the attention from my new home. Not to cut you short but i would not employ any one with out some education in design. I have learned a lot from Kirk in the last few weeks his prof. knowledge of design is just important as doing the actual planting. My mom knows plants very well but not know low browse, balance, proper placement for am or pm sun.
  3. bigviclbi

bigviclbi LawnSite Senior Member
    from nj