Does anyone not put down pre-emergent?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by MacLawnCo, Mar 25, 2003.

1. MacLawnCo

MacLawnCo LawnSite Bronze Member

Guys, im thinking that on the accounts that i do the lawn maintenance and also do the applications for, i am going to not put down a pre-emergent. All the lawns i am considering for this are very dense and mowed high, so i think that my cultural practices may help me sway off and weeds that may want to pop through. Does this sound like a good plan to anyone? What should i be aware of if i go with this method?
  2. turfsolutions

turfsolutions LawnSite Senior Member

I am considering this same thing for next year. I have been developing a lawn program for the last 8 years with the goal of reducing pesticides by 25-50% for an established turf. I experimented last year on my lawn. Full sun, tall fescue. I didn't apply a prem and had no crabgrass germination. Plenty of oxalis and other broadleafs, but no crabgrass. I will try some other lawns this year to see if I get similiar results.

On selected well established lawns, I would say go for it. You can always spot treat with a post M. I would communicate well with your customers so they know your program.

What do you think about every other year for grub prevent after several years of treating with it?

Good luck.
  3. xpnd

xpnd LawnSite Senior Member

The easiest weed to control is the one that never germinates. I do three pre emergent treatments a year. Four on some lawns that have trouble with spurge. New customers, no matter when they sign up pay for an initial pre emerge treatment . If they fuss about it, they can go with someone else. Trying to do 100% post control will drive you nuts.
  4. Meier

Meier LawnSite Senior Member
    from DFW

Personally, for me, I would not take a chance on not using Pre-Emergence herbicide.