does bagging the grass make a differance on the yard

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by mrredbeard, Jun 13, 2008.

1. mrredbeard

mrredbeard LawnSite Member

i am ordering my new lawn mower and i am thinking about putting a grass catcher on it. i have about 3 acres for my yard. i just bought the house and i have never had a yard before. i am a real newbie, well i bought the house a year and a half ago. i rake when the grass is high , and it is a pain. i usually leave the clippings on the yard but a friend said it would be better if i used a grass catcher. kubota uses a protero pro vac 18 that Holds 14 bushels and it looks pretty nice. also when do i use weed killer. my yard has a lot of weeds. i live it central Pa. i do have a 50 gallon sprayer with a 12 foot boom that i bought thinking it would be good to use for fertilizer. what and when should i use with the sprayer?

2. Kiril

Kiril LawnSite Fanatic

Buy a mulching blade(s) for your mower, your lawn and soils will thank you. :)

3. Jopopsy

Jopopsy LawnSite Member

My 2 cents? 3 acres is a awful lot of grass to catch - where do you plan on dumping it? Also, those bins are going to be heavy and you're still going to have to stop frequently to empty out.

4. Valk

Valk LawnSite Silver Member

Mow frequently enough to NOT have to bag... IFF mowed frequently enough, clippings contribute little/if any to thatch ~> thatch is dead, fibrous roots. Mulch your turf if growth is short enough...side discharge otherwise.

Cut it TALL, let the clippings FALL...(3.5"+)

Bagging 3 acres? You need a funner hobby!

my .02

5. zemzabob

zemzabob LawnSite Senior Member

No bagging

6. All_Toro_4ME

All_Toro_4ME LawnSite Bronze Member