Does this happen to you... or is it just me?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lawn-Scapes, May 19, 2003.

1. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

Cutting a lawn in a community for almost 3 year. The surrounding neighbors see you.. sometimes even wave to you while they are cutting thier own lawn as you tend to your account. Then one week you pull up to your account and out of the blue there is a new lawn service cutting the next door neighbor's lawn. You know... the one you've been smiling at and waving to for 3 years.. :confused: ???

To me there is nothing more irritating in this business!

Anyway... in case you haven't figured it out.. It happened to me today. So.. I walked up to the homeowner (while the LCO was still cutting his property), handed him my card and said "I've been cutting next door for 3 years.. If you'ld like a price or it doesn't work out let me know."

He says... Yeah okay. You do a great job over there. I'll let you know.

:angry: UN FREAKIN' REAL :angry:

2. crazygator

crazygator LawnSite Bronze Member

They have to use someone else, because of being jealous of your work at their neighbors house. Neighbors are funny people sometimes!

3. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

exactly. I am doing a doctors house last year and the number across the street sees how good of work I am doing and drops her LCO right then and there and tells me to take care of hers from now on. She told me that whatever I do to the doctors house, she wants it done to hers as well.

4. fblandscape

fblandscape Banned

It's all about selling yourself. Your work can be good as gold, but if you don't know how to sell, you're gonna be SOL. Have you ever spoken with the neighbors at your houses? Have you ever handed them your business cards? If the answer to those questions are no, then you can blame no-one but yourself.

5. Green in Idaho

Green in Idaho LawnSite Senior Member
    from Idaho

I second fblandscape's point.