Dog Attack!

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by NafzigerLawn, Sep 5, 2010.

1. NafzigerLawn

NafzigerLawn LawnSite Member

This week my helper and I were mowing a property that I have been maintaining for at least five years. It is an Emerald Zoysia lawn that we mow with John Deere commercial 21” walk behinds. The customer has had one dog for about 15 years which is pretty much deaf and blind. They have another dog that they adopted three years ago which has not given me much trouble. This week they were keeping their son’s dog that bears amazing resemblance to a pit bull.

My guy was mowing the front yard and I was doing the edging and string trimming. As I trimmed the outside of the fence the new dog came up to the fence and was snarling, growling, and barking at the string trimmer. I decided to try to do the trimming in the back yard and see if the dog was just interested in the string trimmer. I went into the back yard and preceded to back away from the dog while speaking softly to it. However the dog kept approaching me snarling and growling. When it was within a couple of feet from me I tried to kick it, but it jumped up and bit my boot. Then I tried a second time and hit it in the side of the head.

We brought the mower into the back yard and started around the yard. After a few minuets the dog went and lay down. When the bag was full and the mower was shut off, the dog came out started to threaten my guy. We found a 1x2 and I used it to herd the dog back into a corner of the yard so that we could switch bags. I did not hit the dog, but apparently I scared it enough that it jumped the fence.