doing demolition work for customers

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by cntryboymc, Aug 3, 2003.

1. cntryboymc

cntryboymc LawnSite Member

anyone ever do demolition work fo your customers?one of mine wants me to tear down a small ranch house that he bought at tax sale which adjoins his property.i was just looking for tips and bidding thoughts.most teardowns around here run like $10k.
  2. Mark B

Mark B LawnSite Bronze Member

If it were me I would say I will be glad to tear it down. I don't like to turn down a fun job. :D
  3. cat320

cat320 LawnSite Senior Member

Rent an excavator with grapple and tractor trailers and have a ball.:blob3: :D
  4. GLAN

GLAN Banned

I am a Landscape contractor. Not a demolition contracter.

See ^ the difference............................^
  5. PAPS

PAPS LawnSite Senior Member

I have done demo work with our Komatsu PC50 w/ thumb. Rent dumpsters or haul the material yourself. Its that easy. I figure jobs on a day rate basis for the machine + dumpsters or hauling etc. Have only done small demo jobs (garages, small additions, etc.) But if had a opp. for a larger one, I would take it and rent a large hoe etc.

DUSTYCEDAR LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

let local fire company burn it down clean up what is left:blob2:
  7. mdvaden

mdvaden LawnSite Bronze Member

It can be a matter of opinion whether or not it modifies your reputation in a good way or bad way.

I will take on work if I can do it in a professional manner.

Once, I gave an estimate for pruning. The person made a comment about their fence.

After looking at it, not at their request, I mentioned I could remove the above ground portion for a couple of hundred dollars.

They accepted, and after the small pruning job, I dissected their 170 feet of fence into 6 foot by 8 foot sections, and just stacked them flat on my trailer over the brush - it took about 45 minutes.