Donating to V.F.W.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by sikagrass, Feb 1, 2007.

1. sikagrass

sikagrass LawnSite Member

I contacted my local V.F.W. and talked to their quartermaster . What I want to do is maintain a disabled vets yard for a year , based on need.Has anybody ever done something like this before and have any pointers?I have yards spread over 5 small towns so its sure to be on one of my routes, we cut every two weeks on the average yard.First cut would be around March 1st and last would be end of november.
    What Im trying to get at is a written proposal with limits on lot size,(yard not estate!) and the work performed that I can send to their post as they are having a meeting soon.Also there is a broad meaning to the word disabled,I want to find some guy who really needs the help.Any ideas?
  2. KrayzKajun

KrayzKajun LawnSite Fanatic

I really respect you for wanting to do this. I am a veteran of the Iraqi War. I know people who served in Vietnam and WWII who cant walk or see. I actually cut a few yards like that. The Local V.F.W.s actually awarded a contract to me to clean up the properties their meeting halls are on. I cut the veterans yards for free. Good luck!
  3. OMG

OMG LawnSite Senior Member

Just be specific in what you deem 'disabled' and limit to size preferred. They will understand and be fair I'm sure.

We have a 'free clinic' here that serves only the working population without insurance. Mainly smalltime illness and baby immunizations.

Anyway, we maintain their property for free.....due to that, we've picked up several new customers that are doctors/nurses that also donate their time to the free clinic.

One good deed deserves another.

You are to be commended.
  4. dhardin53

dhardin53 LawnSite Senior Member