Don't cry me a river

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Ground Pounder, Apr 13, 2001.

1. Ground Pounder

Ground Pounder LawnSite Member

This is my first season and I have already fired a customer.

I went to cut her yard the other day. The turf was about 4" tall. I make a turn and see her standing in my path about 20 yards ahead of me. I stop, shut the machine off and she starts out with "It's only April 9th. Don't you think you jumped the gun?" "I am a retired school teacher and I didn't budget for any lawn care this month. I don't think it needs mowed yet."

I am fuming at this point. She continues... "The last service cut it for me every 10-14 days."

I explain to her that it is hard on the turf and the equipment to let it go that long. I told her my service operates on a weekly schedule. She says that she will check with the neighbor boy to see if he will do it.

I reply with "That sounds like a good idea." The professional I am, I finished the job. When I was done I went to her door, told her that I would not be able to meet her schedule demand and that was that.
  2. cajuncutter

cajuncutter LawnSite Senior Member

been there done that!! they think cause you have a big commercial mower it is om to cut 8 to 10 inch tall grass cause they can however they do not realize how much stress and wear and tear that is involved..i did not spend over 7 grand only to flush it down a toilet...if they want every 10 to 14 days then they can find someone else..oh yeah i hate it when a customer stops me in my tracks be it to just converate or tell me to do something..i hate interuptions but it is part of the game
  3. cajuncutter

cajuncutter LawnSite Senior Member

When they say they are on a budget..I simply tell them I am on one to :D
  4. Charles

Charles Moderator Staff Member