Don't know what to charge? Let me help.

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by tthomass, Apr 14, 2007.

1. tthomass

tthomass LawnSite Gold Member
    from N. VA

I just replied to a post lending some helpful insight on this commonly asked question. First, I'm a professional landscaper, not an accountant but if you "burn this into your brain" you can make it through this season and into the next.

Example.
    A) Question to remember: How much do I charge to put down 10 yards of mulch that costs me $20 per yard?

MONTHLY OVERHEAD EXAMPLE:
    +Truck payment $1,000
    +Insurances $1,000
    +Wages $6,000
    +Rent $1,000
    +Gas and some other expenses that you CAN calculate $1,000
    =$10,000
    =$10,000 MONTHLY OVERHEAD PAYMENT

$10,000 MONTHLY OVERHEAD PAYMENT / 4 weeks = $2,500 per week OVERHEAD PAYMENT

$2,500 per week OVERHEAD PAYMENT / 5 business days = $500 per day OVERHEAD PAYMENT

So what we've got here is a need of $500 NET ( NET = $ after expenses ) per day just to cover operating expenses and break even.

Back to the mulch question. Costs $20 per yard and "what do I charge". Well if its plain old mulch I am around $90 per yard that leaves me $70 per yard to put towards my "$500 per day OVERHEAD PAYMENT". So 10 yards = $900 - $200 cost of mulch = $700 - "$500 per day OVERHEAD PAYMENT" = $200 profit for the day.