Don't mean to call any one out

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by fjay5272, Jul 26, 2006.

1. fjay5272

fjay5272 LawnSite Member

Beware of where you get your advice on here.

I'm new to the business, not the business but the working for myself side of it. Therefore 99.9% of the time im just reading posts trying to learn from others. The rest is asking the occasional question i do not find the answer to on here or bitching a bit in my lco network section. I think ive posted advice once just because referred to a recent experience of mine in cutting a corner with a mediocre piece of equipment rather than bucking up and putin a lil more cash down.

That being said, since I have read so much on here since becoming a member, and even more before i became one, i've noticed at times certain posters who say they are new and then post a ton of advice. And its all over short spans, IE. 100 or 200 posts under there belt and averaging upwards of 25 a day and almost all advice.

I bring this up because in these cases it seems to be a fad. They are new to the business yet in their time on here of about 10 days they have posted a whole lot of "advice." They found a business they wanted to get into and after two weeks became experts.

Which since I read so much on I notice this and know who to really listen to and who to ignore, but someone viewing casually to pick up a quick fact or two doesnt know this. So check the profile and see whats going on, check there past posts and see the responses they get from the Lawn Site Senior Members, you will be able to tell real fast if their oppinion is respected.