DOUBLE BLADE TORO Z-MASTER

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by EROSS17, Feb 27, 2001.

1. EROSS17

EROSS17 LawnSite Member

I've been reading a lot of threads about using double blades. I'm wondering if any one has done it on a Toro Z-Master. I have a 99 Z-Master, and don't think it's possible. Thanks!!

2. Esby

Esby LawnSite Senior Member

Why dont you think its possible?? What seems to be holding you back from putting them on?

3. I too have a Toro Z, talked with my dealer who called Toro, they do not recommend doubling the blades as the bearings are not set up to handle this, also if the machine is under warranty this will cancel it.

4. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

Others are using double blades on Toros. If they do not hold up, see if Dixie Chopper spindles will fit. I know they will hold up for many years, over 3000 hours without problems using double blades. I can not see what a couple extra pounds more on a set of bearing will hurt. I have used doubles on a few different brands and I have replaced one set of spindle bearings on one spindle on one machine in the 13 seasons I have used doubles.

That sounds like a cop out that is pretty lame to me. Most dealers and Mfgs. have never heard of this method. Dixie Chopper makes a bracket to keep the double blades from slipping and they will warranty the spindles too. I guess only small companies can build them strong enough. ;)

5. Mark

Mark LawnSite Senior Member