Doubles and premature belt/spindle wear

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by CMLLawnServices, Aug 26, 2003.

1. I put a set of doubles on my Z tonite (lowlift over lowlift) and i cut a property and couldn`t be happyer with the results. Then my old man came out to see them and said , "take them off . you cant run those with such a narrow belt, and those bearings in your spindles are gonna get worn out alot faster. If they were so good the deck would have came with 6 blades instead of 3."
    I`m using standard airens/gravely parts from the dealer.
    Will they wear out the belts and bearings faster?

2. GeorgiaGrassMan

GeorgiaGrassMan LawnSite Member

I'm no expert in that area, but what your old man said sounds reasonable to me. When I was 16, if my old man had ever caught me asking someone else if he was right about something, he would have kicked my azz. So if someone on here tells you he is wrong, what are going to do? Are you going to tell him that some perfect stranger on the internet knows more than he does? See - right or wrong - us Dads like a little respect so be a good son and don't argue with your Dad. :) Just be thankful that he is around to give you advise - lots of kids - excuse me - young men - don't have that you know? By the way, I'm not trying to bust your chops. This is coming from a guy who usually did the opposite of what his Dad told him and now has a 16 year old son himself.

3. He isn`t either, I thought since so many guys who do this for a living use doubles , would have known more about this wear . I`m just as much in the dark about this as the old man is .
    if you don`t have anything to say that helps me , don`t put in please. I`m just defending my postition , not giving lip or disrespecting him . Is it wrong for me to defend my position?

4. GeorgiaGrassMan

GeorgiaGrassMan LawnSite Member

Yeah ok - well I'm sure someone who knows all about it will weigh in. I wasn't trying to give you a hard time. Please forgive me.