1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Drainage problem preventing us from landscaping

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by momslife, Sep 3, 2007.

1. momslife

momslife LawnSite Member

This is my first time at this sight and I am so HAPPY that I found it! I have attached some photo's of the situation I am in for you to view. You can't see it from the pictures but our AC is next to the house against the side. We have an extremely small strip of grass where our property line ends and our neighbors grass begins. We have put in a water sprinkler years ago (ourselves) but we never put the sprinkler in this small area because we were not sure what we were going to do with it. We pondered the idea of removing the tree and extending the driveway so we could utilize the double gates on our fence. OR, putting in a natural area around the tree and along the beginning of the driveway and re sodding the grass between the two which would only leave us with a small amount of grass to have to deal with. Our PROBLEM arises because the house next to ours was built higher on cement blocks so when it rains we get all the rain run off out of their yard. We put in a drain which starts where you see the lid laying on the grass. This drain is wonderful and got the rain off of the driveway. However, the rain water still pools deeply around the tree. So, heavily sometimes the dirt from the ground covers the fence about a fourth of the way up when it finally drains. So, either extending the driveway or the natural area around the tree is out because of the pooling water. Is there a way to even our lands? Can we pull out the tree and maybe put in a some river rocks? Would a retaining wall look nice between the two houses? Or is that not nice to do to the neighbors asking them to keep their own rain w