Dreamscapes Unlimited (my story)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Rich Walker, Jan 23, 2008.

1. Rich Walker

Rich Walker LawnSite Member

Hello, my name is Rich I am the owner of Dreamscapes Unlimited out of Cincinnati, Ohio. I have 28 years of Industry experience and have worked with several small companies, to the industry giants in the green industry. I have had Dreamscapes now for 11 years we are a full service lawn maintenance and landscape company Licensed with the state of Ohio and The Department of Agriculture for chemical lawn applications. I started Dreamscapes with no capital and out of the trunk of my car and have grown rather conservatively over the past 11 years we have done large complete commercial installation jobs as well as service about a 60 mile radius from our office, Our retention rate exceeds 96% annually and we get most of our new work from referrals. We are aggressively working on our marketing plan and budget for this season as we will be trying to add substantial new clients. Previously I had owned three other lawn care businesses the first by my 3rd year I had sales exceeding 500k annually and over 14 commercial mowers and 6 trucks went through a rough divorce and lost 250,000k in liquid assets in my early 20's the next business I had started again from scratch was in West Palm Beach again third year sales 500K walked away from that company due to a custody battle for my son, started third business and made a bad choice and took a business partner again close to 500k annual sales by our third year and my business partner filed bankruptcy and it wiped us out completely. So then I tried Retail Management was doing great and managing multi-million in annual sales and up to 300 employees I hated it severely so I started Dreamscapes Part Time after I usually worked my 80+ hour retail job and found minimal time but grew it to a fine small business and really want to be more aggressive and grow more. Also when I was a teen I mowe