1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Dress Code 101

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by XOFMOT, Jun 12, 2001.

XOFMOT LawnSite Member

Ok everyone, asking for your help again this evening. I'm a rookie so be gentle. What kind of clothing are you all wearing? Does a large % of everyone have "UNIFORMS" (pants, shirts, hats...) or are you just wearing blue jeans and t-shirts? Is there really a differance? Does anyone notice? Or is it just a FEEL GOOD thing for the business owners (you and me)? What are you wearing when you go to meet a prospective customer for the first time?

please let me know before I take the plunge.Thanks

FOX Property Services Unlimited, LLC:dizzy:
  2. jjfehr

jjfehr LawnSite Member

the easiest way to answer this question is to put your self in the customers shoes! If you decide that you want a lawn service and you had two companies to choose from, which would you choose? company a) or campany b). Company A) wears a nice looking t-shirt with company logo and a pair of nice shorts or pants, and company B) wears ripped up jeans and a brown and yellow tank top that is supposed to be white that you once caught "peeing in the bushes"(sorry I had to add that)! What would you wear for the first meeting between you and a potential client? Again, put yourself in the clients shoes, who would you choose the brown and yellow tank top, or my choice, a suit and tie? I feel that a suit presents yourself as a business man, rather than just the "lawn boy"!
  3. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

Our first year, we bought white polo shirts with our name embroidered on them, and we wore them to all our estimates. But for us, polos are just too hot to work in.