1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Dripp Irrigation

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by cgaengineer, Mar 12, 2008.

1. cgaengineer

cgaengineer LawnSite Fanatic

Has anyone worked with using effluent as a from of drip irrigation for lawns? Right now at my home I have 2 tanks, one for solids and one for grey water. The grey water is pumped up hill to my to a distribution box which feeds the 190 LF of Infiltrator plastic chambers. I understand the health department requirements for a standard drip irrigation system as I work in the civil engineering industry and we design septic systems for homes (Among other things).

My question is has anyone used or even thought of using this type of system for their lawns or a customers lawns. Right now with water being as scarce as it is in GA this is a perfect way to get virtually free water and rather then pumping it in chambers up the hill which are 24" under ground and doing nothing for my lawn. I would like to have a valve so that I could manually control the flow to the existing portion of the system in the winter time when water requirements are low.

They already have systems built like this, but I am unsure about retrofitting and existing system.

With the tubing sold in 500' lengths, I would need 2 rolls to cover my rear lawn at 12" spacing, and likely another roll for my front lawn with a directional bore under my driveway to the island in the middle of my looped drive.

All over the country re-use water is used for irrigation, but mostly spray irrigation as the water has been treated. With direct injection into the soil treatment is not needed as the soil does the filtering and cleansing.
  2. jefftb

jefftb LawnSite Senior Member