Drive point/Sand point wells.

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by jcom, Sep 12, 2007.

1. jcom

jcom LawnSite Senior Member

I have been asked to provide an estimate for a house very close to a large river and he would like to use a sandpoint well as his neighbor is using one and has for years. I suppose I could check his neighbors for capacity if he would allow it.

The house is about 150' from the property edge and the property is approx. 12-15' above the river.
    However, because of the slope of the property, we could probably install a sandpoin 10' above the river. We cannot get to the river for a pump because of the distance. (Probably close to a quarter mile).

He does not want to use city water because of the expense. A very large lot to irrigate. I do not know the capacities of a sandpoint and pump as I have no experience with them. Would I have to install the sandpoint and then a pump and do a flow test to know if it is feasible or is there a formula of some kind?

My estimate is 10 zones off city water and a 1" pipe for his system so you have an idea of the property to be irrigated. I guess I am trying to figure out if the rough capacities of a sandpoint well or if I need to have a well drilled instead.

Thanks,

John*newusflag*

2. To the top. Somebody help John I'm curious as to what a sand well is.

3. Dirt Digger2

Dirt Digger2 LawnSite Silver Member
    from PA