1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Driving a ZSpray

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by sclawndr, Oct 17, 2007.

1. sclawndr

sclawndr LawnSite Senior Member

Zspray owners - I have very little experience on zero turn equipment but when I demoed a Zspray, it sure seemed like a struggle to drive. It was a little twitchy, the caster wheels always seem to be headed in the wrong direction and you come to the most abrupt stop you've ever seen if your hand slips off the controls. All in all, it wasn't a smooth experience. Do the controls soften up over time? Any tips on dealing with the caster wheels?
  2. indyturf

indyturf LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Indy

You will be an expert after a few hours! don't worry about the casters they will go the right direction! zero turns are really touchy but after you get more comfortable they are a piece of cake!!
  3. Forever Green Lawn

Forever Green Lawn LawnSite Senior Member

It takes a bit to master. When I trained my guys to use one, we started in a parking lot following the lines. Once you can do that, we practice spraying w/ water and working the hopper control, still in the parking lot. The first actual job is usually something big and square, easy to do. After a day, you'll be a pro :)
  4. gregory

gregory LawnSite Bronze Member

like indy and forever green said it just takes time to get used to it ..don't worry about the caster they will go where they need to
  5. Tscape

Tscape LawnSite Bronze Member