Dump Truck needed?

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by Jeffservices, Mar 22, 2009.

1. Jeffservices

Jeffservices LawnSite Member

I have been in business for 6 years, I started when I was 16 with a 48 inch walk behind and 15 customers. I graduated from a '88 Ford Ranger to a F250 PSD. I do about 55-65 lawns per week, half of which I bag collect and take away. I do about 100-120 yards of mulch per year. I also do a bit of JUST delivering of mulch. I am looking at an F450 PSD with a 12 ft landscape dump body, $30,000. Do you think this purchase is justifiable? Or do you think I just want new equipment? At this time I use my 6x12 aluminum landscape trailer with 3ft sides and shovel all mulch off. I can normally haul 6 - 7 yds without exceeding the sides. I can add another 2.5 in the bed of the truck if I really want to, but since they load with a 6 yard bucket, I normally lose out of about an 1/8 of the mulch that goes behind my tailgate.

2. DuallyVette

DuallyVette LawnSite Gold Member

Only you know the answer.

3. mkwl

mkwl LawnSite Bronze Member

How about a dump trailer? Or a dump insert for your truck?

4. White Gardens

White Gardens LawnSite Fanatic

You can find an older used 450 for much cheaper than that. If it's going to get used a lot, and I mean a lot, then I could justify spending 30,000 for a dump truck.

If it's going to get used every so often, then keep looking. Lots of companies are downsizing and unloading older trucks they don't use anymore.

I found my 87 f-350, with a dump and plow, that needed some work, for 3000. Some months it sits and does nothing, some months it gets used every day. And besides, parts are CHEAP, and luckily my neighbor is a Mech.

5. White Gardens

White Gardens LawnSite Fanatic

Dump trailers are the way to go. You can get a big load on them and not have the added expense of a truck.

6. Jeffservices