1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Dumped a PITA customer..finally.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by DennisF, Jun 3, 2004.

1. DennisF

DennisF LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Florida

I dumped a customer today after putting up with a lot of complaining for the last few months. I've never done it before out of respect for customers in general, but this woman pushed the wrong button today. She complained about how quickly I cut the lawn and that she should not have to pay as much if I can mow her yard as fast as I do. That hit a raw nerve with me and I told her to seek bids from other lawn care companies because I would not be back. The look on her face as I was leaving was worth the loss of a customer.
    Like I said, I've never quit on a customer before. Now after doing it for the first time I feel pretty good. Anybody else get a good feeling from giving a customer the heave ho!
  2. Wayne Landscaping

Wayne Landscaping LawnSite Member

It depends on the value of each customer. In your or my case, I would have dropped her. Their's nothing you can say to convince her that your main goal is to cut more grass in a smaller amount of time. A lot of residential people think that the lawn needs to be mowed with a 21" mower @ .5 mph. They will never fully understand until they do it themselves. I would drop a PITA customer right about to if I had one.
  3. GrassBustersLawn

GrassBustersLawn LawnSite Senior Member