Easiest way to dispose of Soil ??

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Dogowner, Sep 11, 2004.

1. Dogowner

Dogowner LawnSite Member

Ok guys I'm a newb and just starting my business so I have no trailer or dump bed yet. I'm tilling about 1,200 sqft of dirt this weekend and need to dispose of about 3" of the soil (make room for new top soil). I have a standard toyota pickup bed which I will be putting the dirt in after I wheelbarrow it from the backyard.

My question is once I get to the dumps to dispose of soil its flat and I believe the only way to get the dirt out of the bed is to shovel it again back out onto the ground. Did this with the old sod and it was a pain in the a**.
    I was thinking of maybe trying to bag the soil before putting it into the bed of the truck that way I can just roll the bags of soil out of the bed at the dumps.

Any other ideas or ways to make it easier on my back then shoveling the soil out of back of truck?
    I appreciate any help !!!

2. Shilohlandscaping

Shilohlandscaping LawnSite Member
    from Norcal

I think the bags will break and make a bigger mess.. As I can see, having done this a few times.. your options are to shovel it out or rent a dump trailer.. If you have the soil ready and some help you might be able to get away with half a day or even the minimum, probably 2 or 3 hrs. One time I came across a guy doing a retaining wall and he came and picked up my excess dirt as fill.

Good luck..

3. Shilohlandscaping

Shilohlandscaping LawnSite Member
    from Norcal

BTW... 3" at 1200 sq ft might be a lot more than you think.. try an area calculator from any landscape materials site.. thats a lot of truckloads for a small truck...

4. out4now

out4now LawnSite Bronze Member
    from AZ