Edger has no guts

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by sunedog, Sep 2, 2004.

1. sunedog

sunedog LawnSite Member

I'm not a professional, just a homeowner. So I hope you don't mind me posting a question here.

I have a Craftsman 4 HP edger/trimmer that is 6 years old. Model is 536.772300. It has recently gotten very wimpy. It starts and runs OK, but the blade stops when it meets minimal resistance. I used to be able to edge rather deeply and angle the blade away from the sidewalk at 15 degrees to make a more pronounced edge. It will cut grass, but now the blade just stops when it hits any soil. The engine RPM's don't change, the belt just slips.

I thought the original belt had stretched so I replaced it. No improvement.

Is there some adjustment I can make to get more power to the cutting head? The manual doesn't list any adjustments like this.

Thanks for your help.

2. fixer67

fixer67 LawnSite Silver Member

Thanks for the Sears model number. I went to Sears Web site to see what you had and I thank I have found you problem or at least a place to start. That type edger the belt is spring loaded and I have had them come in the shop and the spring arm would be rusted or jammed. Check the area pictured below to make sure it works free. You may have to take the belt off to do your checking.

copy (2) of leadimage.jpg

3. sunedog

sunedog LawnSite Member

Thanks, fixer67. I'll check it out tonight. It makes sense that that big spring pushes the part that holds the blade (the quill assembly according to the manual) out to tension the belt. Maybe it's bound up or something.

Do those springs require periodic replacement?

4. FERT-TEK

FERT-TEK LawnSite Bronze Member

You could also check the air filter to see if the motor is restricted by a dirty filter element.

5. fixer67

fixer67 LawnSite Silver Member