Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Experturf, May 20, 2008.

1. Experturf

Experturf LawnSite Member

I'm just getting started in the commercial mowing business and I'm looking for an edger. Any suggestions? What are the good brands?
  2. Experturf

Experturf LawnSite Member

Just to clarify that's an edger that would be used to edge by sidewalks, driveways, etc
  3. LandscaperPro

LandscaperPro Sponsor

The world's first and only shaft/gear driven walk-behind edger! Available by Spring 2006. 50cc, 2.5HP 2-stroke engine, solid steel drive shaft, heavy duty two-stage air filtration system, unique height adjustment system, stronger and longer throttle and height adjustment wires, not available in California, and two year commercial warranty.
  4. Lazer_Z

Lazer_Z LawnSite Silver Member
    from NJ

What type? walk behind or stick?

If you are looking at a WB I've heard plenty of good things about McLane and Little Wonder, on edit I see Tanaka was mentioned they seem to get high praise as well.

If it's a stick edger Stihl has a few you may like. They have the FC 90 curved shaft, FC 100 curved shaft, FC 95 straight shaft and the FC 110 straight shaft. They also have an FC 75, but it's not as powerful as the others. The 75 is 25.4cc's, the 90 & 95 are 28.4cc's, the 100 & 110 are 31.4cc's.

Good luck and I hope this helps.
  5. 1998tahoe

1998tahoe LawnSite Member

6. White Gardens

White Gardens LawnSite Fanatic

Go With a stick edger. Walk behinds don't do curbs at all. A stick edger will save tons of time and will do as good as job as any walk behind. I have an edger attachment that goes on my back-up string trimmer. I just swap it out when I need to.
  7. freshprince94

freshprince94 LawnSite Bronze Member

I use an Echo PE-200 whixh I used to like but it's really underpowered. Echo and Stihl are pretty good brands though.
  8. Lazer_Z

from NJ