Edging Price - by the foot? hour?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by onelegjohn, Jun 21, 2002.

1. onelegjohn

onelegjohn LawnSite Member

I am a lawn mower guy. I don't do much landscaping. However, more and more people want edging. I was walking in Lowe's the other day and I saw a Gas Edger for $200......my wheels started turning and I have been thinking about this. I am a college student and this is what I do in the summers - so I don't really have that much money. I know of at least 3 people I mow for that would like edging and that would probably pay for the edger.....BUT......

How would I charge for edging? What is the best edger for sidewalks, driveways, and small flower beds. I thought about getting one of those wheel measurers like the cops use to measure skid marks and charge like $0.10 a foot or something. Anything would be helpful.

Thanks,
    Nate

2. CLM1103

CLM1103 LawnSite Member

If you quote a price for mowing here, it is assumed that you mow,edge all concrete drives and walks, weedeat everything that the mower did not cut and blow all grass off street, drives, walks and patios. That is all just part of the job.:blob1:

3. onelegjohn

I was not aware of that....well maybe I am just structured differently. I charge $20 for the average lawn with a walk behind mower...I never really wanted to get into mowing that bad but it seems I acn make more money for books and such working for myself that some one else. Maybe I need to raise my prices and include edging and blowing as well.

Thanks,
    Nate

4. I think most include it in mow price- just raise your mow price once you add it. The better job done will bring you more customers.

-if edging is overgrown on a new customers, I charge additional for the first service to clean it up. I quote a $$ amount based on how long I think it will take. After that it is incuded with service.

Your lawns are $20-is that about $40Hr? I'd use that same rate to figure edging price.