Edging question.......????

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lawn Sharks, Nov 20, 2002.

1. Lawn Sharks

Lawn Sharks LawnSite Senior Member

Okay, I have never used an edger before but realize that no other lcos here do either. Everyone just flips their string trimmers upside down. I thought it would set me apart from the pack by investing in a good edger and I am relying on my faithful LS friends to provide some answers.

*Is the typical 3hp walkbehind old style edger good for edging flower beds? Most seem to market to "Sidewalk and Driveway edging".

*What are the benefits of having a stick edger over a walkbehind other than price?

Here in Vermont we have some large estates and my clients have copious amounts of flower beds but very little "paved" walkways and driveways. I feel that, since no one has properly edged these properties in many years, that a walkbehind will do the job better or do I need more machine?

So, tell me about your edging of beds. Will a 3 hp Power Trim make me look like a pro or do I need to go with something bigger?

Fully expect that once the edges are established that I will be able to maintain them with a stick edger for most of the season but I am looking to impress on the first shot next year.

Let's talk edging!!!!!

2. PR0 TURF

PR0 TURF LawnSite Bronze Member

We still find after trying both methods that hand edging is the best. We have no respect for the little 3hp edgers...they're just about useless in our opinon. We edge all of our beds by hand. If we have a property with alot of edging we will rent the Brown edger and go over everything but then go over everything again quickly by hand to get a nice deep straight sharp edge. The Brown edger is leaps & bounds above the 3hp walk behind models. But to get the BEST edges around your gonna have to do em by hand. Just my opinion...