Effects of plowing on trucks

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by eggy, Nov 3, 2000.

1. eggy

eggy LawnSite Senior Member

I am new to the plowing biz, I have been in lawn care for several years and it is becoming a one stop shopping market out there, meaning you need to plow and cut, or at least around here. I am wondering if the horror stories about how rough plowing is on trucks is true. We have been looking at adding a f250 as our plow truck, however people have said I will be sorry that the truck will be useless in three years, you guys are the pros whats your thoughts?

2. CCSwanson

CCSwanson LawnSite Member

If you go out and abuse the truck it will not last long, but I know people that have been using the their trucks for 10+ years I used my truck for about 7 years then sold it as far as I know it is still in use and that was bout 3 years ago

3. Chuck Smith

Chuck Smith LawnSite Senior Member

Eggy,

Not 100% true. There are many factors involved, that could easily destroy a truck in a single season of plowing. Those same factors, can also have little effect (considering the usage, and profit involved) on a vehicle even after 20 years of plowing.

The most important place to start is vehicle selection, and plow selection. There are many opinions on this, and "to each his/her own" prevails. Try to be sensible in your selection. Anything I say beyond this point will no doubt be criticized, and possibly taken the wrong way. No offense is intended at anyone.

First you have to consider what exactly you plan to be plowing, and how often. Since you are already established in lawn care, and have a customer base, I would focus on that. In the future, you might choose to expand, and that is something to consider, but focus on "now" to start.