Emergency Advice !!!!!

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Love Thy Neighbor, Jan 20, 2003.

1. Love Thy Neighbor

Love Thy Neighbor LawnSite Member

Hey All

I have never applied fertilizer to any account.
    I have two potentialaccounts that I want to bid on for mowing but they asked for fertilization also. Do I go out and by regular fertilizer from menards or home depot and a large broadcast spreader?

How do I charge? I charge $1.50 per 1000 sq ft to mow.
    I know fertilizing may be alot different.

The two accounts measurements are.

1. 29,292 sq ft

2. 47,091 sq ft.

What would you charge?

I want to answer the prospects by Tuesday.

There is a third possible. I won't do the mowing but he wants a quote for fertilizer and broad leaf control. Im reluctant on even attempting a quote because I am a rookie.
    This one is about 3.5 - 4 acres. Looks like a money maker but i'm not so sure.

Please help.

P.S I'm not looking to get into spraying or pesticide apps.

2. PaulJ

PaulJ LawnSite Bronze Member

Just from what you described. You haven't done any applicatoins before and you aren't really looking to get into fertilization. You could look into Sub-contracting this out to someone who does it on a regualr basis, is liscenced for pesticides, and who Knows what they are doing. That way you could the offer service even though you aren't set up to do it.
    If you do want to get into applications, then study and reasearch and read everything you can on turf and fertilization and pest control. Then get your pest licence and insurance and go for it.
    Most of the time weed and grub control is expected as part of a fertilizer package. So even if you don't want to do it the customer will want you to.

You probably could just put down fert from Menard's (no weed control without a licencse) and get by. But you could do more harm than good if you aren't familiare with it.

Good Luck
  3. Kent Lawns

Kent Lawns LawnSite Senior Member