Employee pay/ productivity

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by muldnerlm, Mar 21, 2005.

1. muldnerlm

muldnerlm LawnSite Member

Anyone use a pay per job system? I am thinking about a set wage per job with a quality of work bonus. What if any experience do you guys have with this method. I bring this up because I have had productivity problems in the past.

2. marko

marko LawnSite Senior Member

Cant help you as far as experience because I have not done it yet, but will be starting it this year. It seems to me to be the fairest for all concerned. Make sure your employees know re-do's because of a valid complaint are done 1st thing the next day and are not paid.

3. muldnerlm

muldnerlm LawnSite Member

Thanks for the advice. Are you going to give them a flat rate for machine maintenance or are you saying that it is included?

4. marko

Per job pay is for driving to the site mowing, trimming, edging and driving back at the end of the day. Im just starting out so the maintenance is not much on 21" mowers and small 2,000 - 6,000 SF lawns.

5. mastercare

mastercare LawnSite Senior Member

I think it's a good system, but has just as many drawbacks as hourly.

If you told me (an employee) that I get paid no matter how long it takes, I'd probably skip out on quality a little bit. You said you wouldn't pay if complaints were made. what if 2 people are cutting a lawn and the complaint was about trimming? Now do you dock the trimming guy or both? If they were both trimming, and they both got paid less, only one is to blame. I would rather not have their pay based on speed and lack of complaints.

What happens when one guy has a flat tire, and spends 20 mins fixing it. Does the other guy have to pick up his half of the work? Does this change who gets paid what? I see lots of problems with this...as far as who is responsible for what, and the fact that speed will overcome quality every time.