employee pay

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ffemt1271, Aug 7, 2003.

1. ffemt1271

ffemt1271 LawnSite Bronze Member

what do you guys pay your employees. I'm about to hire a guy part time. (he's doing this as a part time job) and all he will be doing is weed eating , edging, and blowing. what would be a good per hour amount?

2. proenterprises

proenterprises LawnSite Silver Member

well, i am not the employer, rather the employee,

I have been working for the same guy for almost 3 years now and I still make only 7.00.

I basically just weedo and blow and on occasion i run a lazer.

I think that 7.50 is fair starting pay with a 90 day raise to an even 8.00.

3. Dr. Mow

Dr. Mow LawnSite Member

I start part time help out at $8.00 then after 90 days or so raise it to $10.00
    good help is well worth it.

4. KLMlawn

KLMlawn LawnSite Senior Member

Well, you have to understand the economic value that is specific to your area and then somehow find a happy median between that and what you can afford and what you feel the value of having that extra set of hands is worth to you.
    I would say, and I do follow my own advise, that if an employee is going out with me to help, then he can't cost me more than 20% of the days total income. Otherwise I feel more as if I have a partner rather than an employee. In actuality, I shoot for about 15% or less per man. Now that would be different if he was part of a two or three man crew, with myself being absent and available to go out and do other business related matters.
    You have to figure what your billable hours come to and multiply that by what you normally charge per hour or what your average hourly income from cutting is. Needless to say, I charge hourly for just about everything except mowing, fert., aeration, etc. .... things that can be priced by the sq.ft. ... not there is anything wrong with "per job pricing" but this is what I feel more comfortable with.