encore spindle

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by ffemtlawnboy, Jun 6, 2008.

1. ffemtlawnboy

ffemtlawnboy LawnSite Member

half way thru a yard last night the middle spindle began smoking, initially i thought it was just some grass up around the pulley. i shut down the blades, pulled up the trailer to check the underside. it all looked good under there and everything was free spinning. well i continued to finish cutting the yard without another waft of smoke. once i got back to my shop and pulled in i noticed there were some metal shavings under the pulley. what do you guys think is the bearing smoked or something bigger?? even if its the spindle and the bearing how easy is it to fix without paying a shop a ton of money to do it. i am fairly mechanical i'm just new to this brand and unsure of where to get the parts i need. it would be greatly appreciated if you guys could point me in a good direction.

2. slone

slone LawnSite Member

I Never Changed One On A Encore But, I Have Changed Them On A Lesco Walkbehind And A Ztr. If You Have Some Ability As You Say They Are Not That Hard To Do. If The Mower Is Still Under Warranty Check With Your Dealer. That Spindle Might Have Have A Recall Or Other Problems They Know About. If Not My Lescos Have Bolts That Hold The Spindles To The Deck. Some Of The Pulleys Are Held On By 2 Small Bolts. On Top Of The Pulley You Might Have Two Other Small Holes, Take The 2 Small Bolts Out And Put Them In Open Holes Tighten Down This Should Lift The Pulley Off. Then Undue The Bolts Holding The Spindle On The Deck. I Don't Know If This Helps As I Say I Only Changed Them On My Lescos. The Job Looks Tougher Than It Is. Keep All Parts Together. I Always Like To Have The New Part On Hand Before I Attempt To Take Anything Apart.

3. ffemtlawnboy